The World Health Organization (WHO) lists four types of FGM.

Type 1 ? Clitoridectomy
The excisor completely removes the clitoris

Type 2 ? Excision
Complete ablation of the clitoris, the labia minora and a section of the labia majora.

Type 3 ? Infibulation (or pharaonic excision)
Complete ablation of the clitoris, the labia minora, the labia majora and suture of the edges. The excisor leaves a small opening to allow urination and menstruation.

This is why, when a marriage takes place, the excisor is brought back to reopen the suture. This same type of incision is done during childbirth, to allow the head of the child to come out. Infibulation is in fact the start of a multiple excision that spans the woman?s sexual life. Infibulation occurs frequently in Guinea.

Type 4 ? Others

- piercing or cutting of the clitoris and labia,
- cauterizing (burning) of the clitoris and the surrounding areas,
- placing corrosive substances and herbs in the vagina.
These types do not exist in Guinea. They are found in Tanzania.

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.